Youth protection experts

Since 2003, the classification committee in a standard procedure at the USK consists of four honorary youth protection experts and one Permanent Representative of the Supreme Youth Protection Authorities of the Federal States (OLJB), who holds the chair. The experts are appointed by the USK Advisory Board on the basis of a joint proposal by the Supreme Youth Protection Authorities of the Federal States  (OLJB) and the German computer games industry.

The 50 honorary yout protection experts are independent from both the USK and the games industry, meaning they are not subject to any instructions in this regard and may not be employed in the games industry. They all work in professions related to media experiences of children and adolescents. This includes, for example, activities in youth authorities, in science, in church institutions or with youth welfare organisations. Many of them also have experience from other media self-regulatory bodies, such as the FSK (Voluntary Self-regulation of the Film Industry), the Federal Review Board for Media Harmful to Minors (BPjM) or the FSF (Voluntary Self-Regulation of Television).